What is Deanery Synod?

What is Deanery Synod? 2022-01-04T12:35:11+00:00

The Deanery Synod is part of the way the Church of England gives people at different levels a chance to discuss key issues and organise the Church’s ministry and mission. It sits between the parishes with their Parochial Church Councils (PCCs) and the full diocese, with its Diocesan Synod. It is convened by a Rural Dean and Lay Chair and consists of all the licensed clergy in the deanery and lay people elected by the parishes at their Annual Parochial Church Meeting. The lay members serve for three years.

The synod meets three times a year, visiting different parts of the deanery, and its business is organised by a small Standing and Pastoral Committee, which has both clergy and lay members.

Meetings include:

  • visiting speakers, sometimes from the diocese, sometimes from other organisations
  • reports from Diocesan and General Synods
  • sharing new developments and good practice
  • the deanery’s action plan
  • financial matters including Parish Share

Synod Standing Committee Members

The following individuals are members of the Standing Committee, who plan and manage the business of Deanery Synod meetings.

Rural Dean: The Revd Sarah Hillman (Puddletown, Tolpuddle and Milborne with Dewlish)
Assistant Rural Dean: The Revd Jonathan Still (Buckland Newton, Cerne Abbas, Godmanstone and Minterne)
The Revd Keith Magee
(Dorchester and West Stafford)
The Revd Mark Phillips (Charminster and Stinsford)

Lay Chair: Roger Holehouse (West Knighton)
Vice Lay Chair: Nigel Pridmore (Moreton)
Secretary: Jane Pridmore (Moreton)
Treasurer: Michael Clarke (Stinsford)
Charles Hodgson (Sydling St Nicholas)
Jill Minchin (Dorchester and West Stafford)
Heather Smith (Minterne Magna)